Our Board 2021-22

Mr Stephen Scott
Chairman & Independent Director

Stephen has been the AWWQ Board Chairman since 2009 and is one of four independent directors on the Board. Stephen is currently the Director for International Operations at AEG Ogden Pty Ltd, overseeing the operations in Asia and the Middle East. His long career spans in both public and private sectors. He has previously worked as an Executive Officer at Australian Association for Exercise and Sports Science, General Manager at Ticketek Queensland Pty Ltd, Director at Brisbane Blazers and Director/ President at Queensland Lawn Tennis Club. He specialises in entertainment and sports management as well as general management and technology and has established and managed a number of companies in these areas.

Mrs Jennifer Gregory
State President & War Widow Director

Jenny is a widow of a veteran who served in Malaya, Vietnam and Singapore. She has worked in various capacities over the years, from volunteering in the Solomon Islands to working as a registered nurse at a residential aged care facility where she later became the Director of Nursing. Her passion for caring for people with dementia motivated her to help establish a Dementia Network in Canberra. She became the inaugural President of Alzheimer’s Australia ACT Inc. and worked in this capacity for many years. She joined AWWQ shortly after her husband’s death in 2013 and became State President in 2016.

Mrs Michelle McGrath OAM
Independent Director / Company Secretary

Michelle has been a Board Director since 2017 and is one of four independent Board Directors. Michelle has worked in the not for profit sector for over 20 years. She has participated in a range of advisory committees at both the Commonwealth and State/ Territory level. Her work supporting people with dementia, their families and carers was recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list in 2011. Michelle is married to Alan who was an Air Force Officer for over 20 years. They currently live on the Sunshine Coast.

Deborah Baczyk
War Widow Director

Debbie has been a member of war widows since February 2019 and is currently Vice President/Treasurer of the Gold Coast South sub branch.

She served in the Australian Army as a Dental Assistant/Hygienist for six years and during that time married a soldier and for the following 20 years moved every two years as her husband progressed through the ranks, and finally in 1994 settled on the Gold Coast to provide stability for their daughters education.

The next 23 years were spent working at a local dental practice until retiring to care for her husband before his passing in September 2018.

Debbie has served on many committees over the years.

Mrs Catherine Hartshorn
War Widow Director

Catherine has been a member of Australian War Widows Queensland since 29 March 2007, and is currently the Secretary and Treasurer of the Caboolture Sub Branch.  Catherine commenced her working life after an education at a College specializing in preparing students for a life in the commercial sector. She worked as a private Secretary to business Executives initially and moving onto Administration, and then worked as a Administrator at a Funeral Director. Following that Catherine was also Secretary of a Welfare Committee as well as being President of the Women’s Auxiliary for a number of years.

Judith Smith
War Widow Director

Judith Smith has been a member of Australia War Widows since 24 July 2013. Judith has several qualifications in General Nursing, Midwifery, Maternal & Child Health Certificates. She has also worked as the Director of Katherine Family Centre & Creche and Children’s Services Development Officer of the Katherine Town Council. Judith is also the ex-President of the Australian War Widows Queensland Maroochydore Sub Branch.

Mrs Maureen Rush
War Widow Director

Maureen has been a member of AWWQ since 17 July 2013, and is currently President of the Gympie Sub Branch. She joined the AWWQ Board in 2019

Mr Chris Richards
Independent Director

Chris served over 21 years in the RAAF, both as an airman and commissioned officer, retiring with the rank of Squadron Leader.  He then served 19 years with the Queensland Police Service as a Human Resource Manager and in other corporate roles.  Chris is the State President of the Queensland TPI Association and a member of the State Queensland Veterans Advisory Council.

Ms Jennifer Walker
Independent Director

Jennifer has had a varied executive, operational and line management career in technical, management and organisational development roles, spanning over 25 years, in the private and public sectors, working at all levels of government, and in a number of jurisdictions. She has also had over 18 years’ experience in consulting to organisations with a diversity of governance arrangements.

In her not-for-profit executive career, Jenny was the inaugural CEO of Legacy Australia Inc. and is now consulting in governance to not-for-profit organisations as a Principal Consultant with Directors Australia. She was also performing the role of interim CEO of United Synergies Ltd which concluded in May 2019.

In 2018, Jenny organised the Families Forum as part of a range of international events hosted by DVA during the Invictus Games.

Our Staff

Executive Officer, Rachel Johnson

Operations Manager, Jason Orchard

Wellbeing Program Manager, Susan Hilditch

Member & Administration Support (North QLD), Suzi Vincent

Member Support Officer, Lindy Beehre

Administration & Property Coordinator – Emma Quigley